Ten Things I Wish I Didn’t Know About Running a Marathon

image

Okay, let’s be clear. I love running. I love all of it from the long, monotonous long run to the oxygen-depriving sprints. I am like one of those deer that you see happily prancing in the forest. Heck, I love running more than those white horses running through the snow on those t shirts often worn at flea markets. Okay, I think you get it. I am a true runner geek. I, like many of you, decided to take on the marathon. I THOUGHT that I was prepared, but in fact, I was not. There are those things that I am glad that I learned, but wished I didn’t know. Some secrets are truly worth learning in the moment.

I was talking with a couple friends over coffee about new things happening in our lives. While my stories involved a lonely mile ran and new cities promoting their races, a couple of my friends were talking about their growing families. Somehow my medal paled in comparison to stories of children’s first steps.

“Well, I didn’t want him to stay there while I was getting dirty down there.” What?!?! Did I just hear that correctly? “I just wish I never knew about that before my pregnancy. They could keep that information really.” Instantly, the crowd was swayed and they wanted more information to devour. A friend to the left leans in forward and asks, “What other things do you wish you never knew about before…?”

This idea of wishing you could unlearn things really makes for good gossip, or blogging in this case. Now that I am ready to run my marathon, I wanted to share ten things that I wish I could unlearn.

Gas
So by now you know one thing. You will have gas. No need to hide it, but know just because other runners know about it, we all pretend we don’t. Like I would have preferred to be surprised that on race day, the reason this hill is so easy is because I have some propulsion help. Okay, so gas is very normal. It can be due to things we ate, our race day nerves, or just the physical movement of the body. It’s all shaking, so don’t worry farting won’t break it.

Blisters
Okay, so maybe I was willing to take one for the team. I have walked in ill-fitted shoes and rubbed my heel to form a hot spot. I was not ready for the miniature alien spots that are filled with weird oozing liquid. Eeek! Or that they can get crazy big or even worse open and make your foot look like a bear trap survivor. I think using body glide or Vaseline on your feet can help. If you have wet clammy feet, perhaps some powder in your socks will help. Find what works for you, but know that if you take care to have properly fitted shoes and socks (and add some body glide) things should be great.

Injury
So yeah. I once forgot that I was a 30-something year old runner. I decided that playing basketball and performing parkours were great ideas… yeah, no! It is not. Needless to say, I sprained an ankle. That I could handle. The psychological injury was not something that I recovered from easily. I mean this in every sort of way. Psychological and physical injuries both can hold you back. I wish I didn’t

image

There are different foam rollers, so make sure you try one before investing in the expensive brands.

Foam Rolling
Okay, let’s be real for a second (as if we haven’t been already, right?). I am an avid stretcher. This means I understand that you have to make sure the joints are flexible and muscles aren’t tight. But, at what time did I sign up for that medieval torture machine called the foam roller. It is recommended that you foam roll before and after all of your runs. First, using a foam roller hurts. Second, it hurts even more on tight muscles. If I knew about this arduous, painful task pre-marathon, I may have started doing yoga before now.

image

Not all gels are created equal. Be sure to try them in practice so you know what works for you.

Gu/Gels
I agree J.S., is it food or is it primordial ooze (think Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles). That stuff is kinda nasty, but it has everything a runner will need nutrition-wise for your longer races. Yes, you need to drink lots of water with it, but that again is part of the “say what?” Last thing I want to do is gulp down this liquid, or is it a solid? Regardless, it isn’t the best tasting and I prefer “real food,” it is my stomach that can’t hang (during races).

image

Drinking and Running
If only this meant what we all wished it meant. No, not drinking some beer and running a mile (check out this beer mile record). I am talking about trying to drink water/sports drink at the water station. If you are like me, you have probably poured your drink everywhere but your mouth. I have numerous memories of going to drink only to feel like I am being water-boarded. Who knew you were supposed to squeeze the top rim of the cup to make a pour, or better yet just stop.
How to efficiently use water station
(You won’t lose that much time, see).

The Day After
This is probably the biggest “I wish I never knew” thing about marathons. The day after is full of one thing, and that is pain. Be prepared for everything to hurt. A marathon is a major toll on your body, so you can expect to be sore. But, what can you do about it? First, the prep starts as soon as you finish your race. Make sure that you go for a short walk or jog for 30 minutes or so after the finish. Follow this by refueling with real food full of protein, fats, and carbohydrates. Then you should shower (warm and cold water is the best). Some people take an ice bath, but that may be too much for others.

So, you should be ready for the unexpected. It is more important to have a good time and continue running than worrying about the small stuff. In reality, it is better to know everything about the marathon experience to mitigate negative effects and injuries. And in case you are one of those people who like to be surprised, well that may be too late. Although, a marathon will always have surprises to share with you.
Now you know!

Leave a comment